(CNN Spanish) — WhatsApp presented this Tuesday several privacy updates in the messaging application.
“At WhatsApp, privacy is in our DNA, and we will never stop creating new ways to protect your personal conversations,” the company said in a blog post.
“Today, we’re excited to introduce several new privacy features that offer even higher levels of protection and give you more control over your messages,” he added.
These are the updates WhatsApp announced on Tuesday:
Leave groups quietly
Now you can leave a WhatsApp group privately without notifying all users in the group. With this feature, which will be available to all users this month, according to the company, it will only be the administrators of the group who will be informed of your departure.
Who can see that you are online? You choose
Now you will be able to keep your online presence private as WhatsApp introduced the ability to select who can and cannot see when you are online. You can choose to have everyone see when you’re online, only your contacts, some of your contacts, or no one at all. This feature will also be available to all users this month.
Screenshot lock on single view messages
There’s now a single view feature, which is a way to share photos or media files that don’t need to have a permanent digital record, according to the company. Now, privacy protection is increased by enabling the screenshot block for these types of messages. However, WhatsApp says, this function is in a testing period and it was not announced when it will be available.
WhatsApp has more than 2 billion users worldwide and is owned by Meta, the parent company of Facebook (FB). Announcing the changes to Facebook and Instagram, CEO Mark Zuckerberg said the company would “continue to create new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.”